Nuestros usuarios han escrito 4,036 reseñas. Este lugar es una gran manera de explorar increíbles shows y bootlegs, solo refresca la página para descrubir nuevas cosas. Los shows mejor evaluados están basados en dos o más reseñas. También puedes escribir una reseña si asististe o escuchaste un show, y te invitamos a hacerlo!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

122 reseñas han sido escritas por 102 usuarios.

2017-05-12 - Vancouver

Escrito por Frontrow85 - 2 meses atrás

This was my 9th U2 show having seen once every tour since 85. That means the 8th time I've seen them do the big JT hits. After the last tour I felt like I didn't want to hear them again because they have so many great songs that often only get played for the tour they are premiered at. However I knew I was getting a full dose of JT this time and was all good with it. And it did not disappoint. In fact it was awesome. The big hit lead off songs were of course fantastic and I thought most of the slower end songs were also awesome. Highlights were Where the streets Have No Name and Running to Stand Still. The first songs of the encore got the place going, but the ending was just flat and disappointing. Miss Sarajevo is not a great concert song and the energy was dead in the crowd. I thought the new song to close was a great song and it got rocking at the end. The boys all stood close to Larry and really got into it which was great. It never occurred to me this was the end though, so when they walked off we just assumed they were coming back for more since the show had been a bit short by this point anyway. They didn't and suddenly you realized it was over, which just felt weird. Overall good, but not the best U2 I've seen.

On a related note, sadly BC Place messed up big time on getting people in. I was there in what should have been plenty of time based on my many years of going there and ending up in line 2 1/2 hours. All of us outside missed the openers Mumford and Sons who I really wanted to see. No excuse is acceptable, moving large crowds into buildings is not a new thing. They tried something new and completely failed to comprehend the impact it would have. Again, not acceptable or excusable.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2017-05-12 - Vancouver por Birdman33ca evaluado

This was almost a few different shows blended into 1 for me. The opening songs on the B stage were..
Lee la reseña completa »

2017-06-29 - East Rutherford por PageU2 evaluado

Apart from a small audience mishap or two, this show was simply amazing! To have witnessed U2s most famous album..
Lee la reseña completa »

2017-06-23 - Toronto por senrab evaluado

This is the second time I have seen a show on this tour. I don't think the band realizes that..
Lee la reseña completa »


Innocence and Experience tour

282 reseñas han sido escritas por 172 usuarios.

2015-07-27 - New York

Escrito por phenshaw - 1 año atrás

So a bit of background, which will add or detract credibility from my review!

I’ve seen them 7 times (Zooropa / Zoo TV 1993 at Roundhay Park, Leeds - no overstatement to say that this was a life changing experience for me and one of my friends; we’d both choose that day if we could go back in a time machine to one point in time!), 2 Popmart (Leeds and Wembley), 1 Vertigo (Manchester), 2 360 (Sheffield and Cardiff), now MSG (and O2 London to come!).
I could listen to Achtung Baby every day, probably twice, without getting bored. Its my ‘need to cheer up or snap into gear’ music of choice!
I’d then choose Pop over Zooropa or Joshua Tree (I know…). It is just my era - I got into dance music at that time, I really enjoyed Popmart, and it didn’t seem over-produced; if anything the opposite. The remixes and reworking of some of those tracks on the Best Ofs and singles just seem overblown to me - and that’s probably my disappointment in a number of the albums since; they seem to have less rawness and are joyless in comparison. Hey ho.

I saw that tickets were on resale on Ticketmaster when I bought tickets for the 02 in London, and was looking to take my wife away for the weekend just after her birthday - she’s a fan too, been to a number of the shows I listed above, so was keen to indulge me if it also involved a trip to NYC too! I’d always wanted to go to MSG - box sports fan, and some of the bands who’ve played there, big sporting events and fights there make it a venue I’d always wanted to visit, and tickets on the front row of Section 210 pretty much dead centre middle were cheaper than nosebleed seats at the O2. Hmmm. Less said about that the better! However, what a bonus!

The venue is great - not as big as I imagined, but fantastic arena, and the seats were perfect. Great atmosphere (and unlike a typical Brit venue it wasn’t full of people totally hammered being generally annoying!) so thumbs up there! It didn’t seem totally sold out, at least to begin with - we both said ‘I’m amazed this hasn’t sold out, unless it fills up really quickly!’ minutes before Bono made his entrance at the rear of the venue; looking, I have to say, a bit comical these days! Its fair to say my wife’s not a fan of the new look… Good entrance though! Onto the stage and into the intro to Miracle. Loved the guitar intro - first few notes really powerful and get the crowd going. Sound quality is good, plenty loud enough and clear. If anything, the new speaker locations is a bit disorientating if you’re half way back… the sound coming from straight in front of you whilst you’re looking to the left / right to see the band. Maybe that’s just me!

Two Hearts took me by surprise, as I’d done my best to avoid setlists before the show, and sounded great - in fact the ‘punk’ / high tempo first few tracks all worked, and its a great start. Iris, with the screen kicking into life, underlined that the new songs sound much better live - I refer you to the ‘overproduced’ comment earlier, a bit of a bugbear of mine. Raw and loud, and with the narrative of the animations on the fantastic screen backdrops they really make sense.

For those asking / questioning ‘why is Bono spitting at the crowd?’ - its a watered-down (hmmm) punk thing; horrible I know, but the punk bands of the 70s (and the fans in return) used to spit at each other apparently. Nice. Its not full-on spitting in fairness, he’s spitting a bottle of mineral water out, which is a bit more upper class! Still odd if you don’t get the reference!!

Duds and goods then -

Dud (for me):

One sounds a bit tired now (which I know will wind people up) - not sure if its Bono’s inability to play guitar (its always been a 2 guitar setup), and his voice having gone by that point, but the singalong thing didn’t seem to work. Some may disagree - didn’t seem like the crowd really got it, and probably weren’t as familiar with the words as Bono hoped! You can’t win ‘em all.

Its a BIT staged / choreographed…but I guess it always has been. I genuinely don’t know how much is spontaneous any more! I’ll see in a few months at the O2 I guess!
Not sure about the getting people on stage thing; no idea who Amp was (I believe he’s been on stage earlier in the tour - can’t work out why they got him up again?), and the Chilean guy playing guitar. Sounds a bit joyless, but seems to break the rhythm up a bit and appears a bit clumsy, as Bono and Edge have to talk them through everything.

Goods:

Sounds great, and new songs are really good with the visuals and the raw, stripped down (loud) production. 360 was amazing, but musically at times it sounded like U2 playing over backing tracks - I know its them, but it didn’t seem 100% ‘live’. This is way better and more like 4 blokes making a racket, which I always love, and where they’re at their best.

UTEOTW sounds (as always) amazing, and the screen interactions make it even better - same with Bullet.

Invisible performance and effects are fantastic.

Edge just gets better and better - fair play.

The screen and the band’s interaction and integration with it (will make sense when you see it!) is brilliantly inventive.

The narrative (from bedroom / lightbulb to Cedarwood Road to the Berlin Wall and beyond) is a tremendous idea - like U2 decided to put the Spiderman musical to bed by doing a real musical with real music.

Fantastic experience, and really enjoyed being in NYC to see it. It sort of had the feeling of a last hurrah - however they do it I hope they go out on a high, and this just might be it.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2015-05-30 - Inglewood por bcwgobuffs evaluado

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983..
Lee la reseña completa »

2015-10-10 - Barcelona por u2fancat evaluado

#4 of 4. This was U2's last night in Spain.. and I was there! Got up nice and late -..
Lee la reseña completa »

2015-10-30 - London por u2fancat evaluado

So, I ended the week with another U2 concert! I swung by home first - I wanted to shop on..
Lee la reseña completa »


U2 360° Tour

724 reseñas han sido escritas por 364 usuarios.

2011-06-18 - Anaheim

Escrito por ahn1991 - 6 años atrás

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The band mixed up the setlist in preparation of Glastonbury and the high powered opener worked like a charm. I actually like the format in which there is only 1 encore break. It seems to work better for me.

Highlights:
THE FLY!! - tour debut, a super charged song, the whole stadium went crazy
One - an extremely powerful speech about shrinking the stadium down to one digit followed by a great performance of the song. I personally think Bono's speeches work way better than the pre-recorded segment. No offense, Aung San Suu Kyi. It's a great thing that you were released, but Bono plays the crowd better.
Streets - I remember my mind being absolutely blown when I heard that intro
Ultra Violet - This beauty makes a comeback after about a month and it's just as great as ever! I personally like this song way better than HMTMKMKM, simply because it works way better with WOWY and MOS.
MOS - very moving because of the Jungleland reading at the end.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2011-07-20 - East Rutherford por EDDMB evaluado

Loved it.A great way to end the 360 tour for me.The band played a great show this night.They were all..
Lee la reseña completa »

2010-09-30 - Seville por qz23 evaluado

I am from Spain, so I do not have enough words in English to express what I lived there, that..
Lee la reseña completa »

2009-09-23 - East Rutherford por EDDMB evaluado

I loved this show."The Manhattan skylin,The City Of Blinding Lights".Bonos great quote.Nothing like seeing the band band here.Your Blue Room..
Lee la reseña completa »


Vertigo Tour

420 reseñas han sido escritas por 126 usuarios.

2005-03-28 - San Diego

Escrito por cesar_garza01 - 2 años atrás

Here it is, the first Vertigo show. Technically not the debut of the songs (there was a rehearsal in L.A. a few days before), but it was fresh for all the audience there and they enjoyed it a lot. Same for me. The band did their homework and practiced for the show and songs like COBL and Vertigo are already in top form. Then the band really surprised everyone with an Electric Co. full of energy like in the old days! To top that, the always powerful An Cat Dubh/Into the Heart combo. The setlist was still a work in progress and some of the songs do not flow well (Elevation to close the main set?), but there are no big mistakes like other tours. Beautiful Day had a great outro, and Bono was happy to be in San Diego. Another good thing about this show is that there are no tired speeches, no "Edge is from the future". For the same reason, SBS and Bullet are very good, without killing the vibe with long speeches in the middle of the songs. Zoo Station and The Fly had some problems, but Bono improvised complete lyrics for both songs and it more than make up for the mistakes. Elevation was also not very good, and its place in the setlist was not the most appropriate one. The now standard interaction with the crowd didn't work well, but that's ok, it's the first time.
The encore was very good, particularly Streets. Some people don't like Yahweh, but it's one of my favorites from HTDAAB. The final surprise of the night is 40 returning as the closer. Bono said they haven't played since 1993 but it was actually 1998. By the way, thank you Bono for acknowledging Mexico! We love you too! He must had seen a Mexican flag, being in San Diego.
Overall, a more than solid start of the tour, with the band happy to return to their natural habitat. No long speeches, which makes the experience more enjoyable. Check it out.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2005-10-04 - Boston por MattG evaluado

I downloaded the entire thing solely to hear "Crumbs From Your Table" placed that early in the setlist, and listened..
Lee la reseña completa »

2005-09-17 - Toronto por haytrain evaluado

Show Highlights:
This really goes without saying, but the Mofo/Discotheque sequence really steals the show. In fact, it's the whole reason..
Lee la reseña completa »

2005-06-27 - Dublin por cesar_garza01 evaluado

For me, the best show in the European Vertigo leg and a great setlist. This show was Show Of The..
Lee la reseña completa »


Elevation Tour

328 reseñas han sido escritas por 87 usuarios.

2001-10-13 - Hamilton

Escrito por mattfromcanada - 3 meses atrás

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in the early October weather. It wasn’t that cold out, but as we were in one spot for much of the day a chill could catch you. Fortunately, that was made up for by the wonderful experience that is a U2 GA line. I’ve had 6 GA shows and have only ever been disappointed in one of them. My brother and I have always loved U2, and somehow during our teenage years (late 90’s) ‘Out Of Control’ became our signature driving song. When we got in, the Heart was full so we parked ourselves just to the right of the tip of the Heart. So when they finished New Year’s Day and Out Of Control started thumping….well if you’ve experienced it, you know. To top it off, Bono pulled a fan on-stage old school (way to go Arun!), we got Angel Of Harlem, and my personal favourite, Bad. Hear Bad live that close on a GA experience is probably in my top 5 U2 moments. Again, if you’ve experienced it. A surprise cover of ‘What’s Going On’ followed in the encore which U2 just somehow made their own, and we were treated to the ‘Shine Like Stars’ tag on WOWY. Again, the GA crowd knew what a treat that was. I don’t know if U2 will ever come back to Hamilton, I don’t know if they know. This was to date, the only show ever in Hamilton. There were 18,000 luck fans who get to say they were there, and I'm proud to have been one of them.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2001-11-23 - Phoenix por MattG evaluado

Even though the sound was the only thing meriting a 4.5 star recording, some of the treats throughout this show..
Lee la reseña completa »

2001-03-30 - Atlanta por dank2525 evaluado

Brian and I had just recovered from Miami, and decided we could not miss this. Climbed in a car..
Lee la reseña completa »

2001-07-21 - Turin por clover68 evaluado

Maybe I’m too biased about this night. Some issues don’t ruin at all what was a perfect special magic night,..
Lee la reseña completa »


Popmart

334 reseñas han sido escritas por 103 usuarios.

1997-12-09 - Vancouver

Escrito por Doming0 - 2 años atrás

My brother and I started off with nosebleed seats and while Smash Mouth was playing we found the Ticketmaster girl and asked if we could upgrade our seats. We told her we were willing to pay. She refused money and gave us two floor tickets while warning us that they weren't the "best" seats in the house as the sight lines were obstructed by a speaker stanchion and they were about 40 rows back from the front.

Needless to say, we were elated and while Smash Mouth continued to butcher their one and only hit song we made our way to the concession in order to purchase this nice lady a pop and some chips just to say thanks.

We returned to her ticket booth and presented her with said food and said thank you and left to find our seats. Before we were too far away she hollered at us to come back and then proceeded to give us row 7 tickets right on the railing to the B-Stage!!!

What followed next was the most epic moment of that night as we made our way through the crowd towards our new luxurious seats and the sounds of MOFO starting to fill the arena. SO amazing!
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1997-09-23 - Sarajevo por logger evaluado

If, like me, you're only starting your bootleg collection, this is one to grab to understand the sheer emotion that..
Lee la reseña completa »

1997-04-28 - San Diego por djrlewis evaluado

It wasn't as bad as I was expecting. Not as good, by a long way, as they can and should..
Lee la reseña completa »

1997-08-16 - Wiener Neustadt por CMIPalaeo evaluado

Overall a good show and good audience, but disappointing sound. The sound is fine for Bullet through the encore but..
Lee la reseña completa »


ZOO TV

498 reseñas han sido escritas por 133 usuarios.

1992-06-11 - Stockholm

Escrito por germcevoy - 8 años atrás

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show that hasn't been said before so I shall type out Willie Williams thoughts for you all as he hits the nail bang on the head :

Originally posted by Willie

STOCKHOLM. Well tonight was the one. It was the night that I stopped during the gig and thought to myself ''This is the high point on my career''. The entire gig from the Globe in Stockholm was broadcast live to just one person's house - that of Mr John Harris of Nottingham, England. He won an MTV competition, so got the private broadcast. His small living room was piled high with TV's and of course everybody from the whole street was in there. There was also a camera at their end, sending pictures back to us, so at various points during the show, the living room in Nottingham would appear on the stage video walls. Bono would break to speak to them and they would reply of course. Of course by 10pm everyone at the Nottingham end was blind drunk, which made it all the more entertaining. Technologically it was flawless too, which was pretty astounding.

So later on, Benny and Bjorn - the guys from ABBA - appear. We have U2 and ABBA performing 'Dancing Queen' beneath the mirrorball trabant, being broadcast live from a giant spherical building in Sweden to one terraced house in Nottingham. I rest my case.

Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1993-05-11 - Rotterdam por cesar_garza01 evaluado

Very special concert because Bono screws up a lot but also makes it up by improvising, giving the songs something..
Lee la reseña completa »

1992-06-13 - Kiel por cesar_garza01 evaluado

The beginning of this show was really strong, with Bono trying to talk in German. Excellent versions of EBTTRT, Mysterious..
Lee la reseña completa »

1992-04-23 - Vancouver por Breemsicle evaluado

One of my favorite 1st leg shows, second only to the Boston Saint Patrick's Day show.

Highlights:

Even Better than the Real..
Lee la reseña completa »


Lovetown

173 reseñas han sido escritas por 72 usuarios.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

Escrito por MWSAH - 8 años atrás

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1989-12-11 - Paris por cesar_garza01 evaluado

What a way to start Lovetown in Europe! The crowd was already going nuts even during the PA songs and..
Lee la reseña completa »

1989-12-01 - Osaka por cesar_garza01 evaluado

The setlist was shaken quite a bit, I don't know if it flows well, but it's always interesting to hear..
Lee la reseña completa »

1989-12-15 - Dortmund por cesar_garza01 evaluado

It doesn't get any better than this Lovetown leg and Dortmund is no exception. Perhaps the best show of the..
Lee la reseña completa »


Joshua Tree Tour

292 reseñas han sido escritas por 95 usuarios.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Escrito por bodoheil - 2 años atrás

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1987-07-15 - Madrid por LikeASong evaluado

When the Where The Streets Have No Name organ sounded over the 125k people on the stadium and lights went..
Lee la reseña completa »

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia por viridian1 evaluado

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Lee la reseña completa »

1987-09-28 - New York por EDDMB evaluado

I think this gig has flown under the radar.I know it was a long time ago,but this is classic U2.No..
Lee la reseña completa »


Conspiracy Of Hope

21 reseñas han sido escritas por 10 usuarios.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Escrito por MattG - 7 años atrás

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

247 reseñas han sido escritas por 67 usuarios.

1985-03-21 - Chicago

Escrito por Ali709 - 9 años atrás

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very good recording if you’re looking for the same thing as I was. I might suggest this other show as well, it’s got a longer and a bit better setlist (includes Indian Summer Sky, Surrender, Two Hearts Beat As One,...): 1984-10-23 - Nantes, France - St. Herblain (I found it right after having posted Chicago as this week’s bootleg!).

The whole bootleg and show are just great (talking about this week's show, not Nantes mentioned in the last paragraph!!)! Also, it’s interesting to hear them when they weren’t as big as they are now. The ego hadn’t done its work yet, they are a band who has just become famous and big…you can hear Bono’s comments that reflect this (telling the CBS people: “you want some people? Come up here!” or the comments before Knockin’… there is another part where he says they used to have 500 people watching them and that he’s glad there are so many watching now).

**Comments: Just wanted to point this out…it’s interesting how similar this show sounds to Joshua Tree Tour shows (particularly Paris 87, as I was listening to it at the same time). Of course, JT had new songs and a more confident band…but the (very short) speeches/comments (such as “for a very special man…” or “this is a big place but we’re bigger than this place”) and performances are very similar, which shows they didn’t spend as much time as they do now on how the tours should be, it REALLY was only about the music (though maybe we’re lucky that they changed their manners, or all the shows would be the same, up till now! )
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1985-02-04 - Milan por CMIPalaeo evaluado

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All..
Lee la reseña completa »

1985-02-05 - Bologna por cesar_garza01 evaluado

This is where the love affair between Italy and U2 began. Incredible show, first night in Italy and the crowd..
Lee la reseña completa »

1985-04-18 - Worcester por cesar_garza01 evaluado

One of the most special UF shows and the best setlist of the tour! At the beginning Bono said they..
Lee la reseña completa »


War Tour

169 reseñas han sido escritas por 57 usuarios.

1983-06-01 - San Francisco

Escrito por fleavox - 10 meses atrás

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control (disaster but really funny, when they restarted the song, was very well played), Seconds (Edge's guitar sounds different), Sunday Bloody Sunday (Edge's backing vocals with rough voice, I don't know if was Larry or Adam, but I also can clearly hear one third voice on chorus), Electric Co, October (a bit out of tempo, but sounds good), New Year's Day (same case than Seconds), Gloria (Larry's drums sound amazing during Adam's solo, and at end, Edge's voice sounds rough again, one of my fave versions on this tour), 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (all the cases, Edge's guitar and backing vocals sounds a bit different, drums and bass sounding amazing), and 40 (powerfull drums and good crowd)

Strange case that almost all highlights deserves some comments!
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1982-12-02 - Manchester por bowenjaybee evaluado

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in..
Lee la reseña completa »

1983-02-26 - Dundee por nickbibby evaluado

A real gem for me. Loved the set list, especially the inclusion of Like A Song for the only..
Lee la reseña completa »

1983-05-05 - Boston por cesar_garza01 evaluado

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so..
Lee la reseña completa »


October Tour

107 reseñas han sido escritas por 28 usuarios.

1982-07-04 - Werchter

Escrito por cesar_garza01 - 2 años atrás

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave a hell of a show. Even if Bono's voice was not good, starting with Gloria they won the crowd over. The Brick/A Day Without Me is one of the best here. Other highlights: Rejoice, 11 O'Clock Tick Tock with Give Peace A Chance, and Fire to close the show. During Out Of Control, Edge trolled us by playing the intro to Twilight. Give us the full song lads! A must-listen if you like this period of the band.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1982-03-17 - New York por cesar_garza01 evaluado

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had..
Lee la reseña completa »

1982-01-26 - Dublin por daymo1202 evaluado

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Lee la reseña completa »

1981-08-16 - Slane por CMIPalaeo evaluado

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the..
Lee la reseña completa »


Boy Tour

117 reseñas han sido escritas por 42 usuarios.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Escrito por Dystopian45 - 1 año atrás

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco por CMIPalaeo evaluado

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a..
Lee la reseña completa »

1980-11-11 - Canterbury por fleavox evaluado

Interesting bootleg, great performance and an average recording, maybe if the taper were in another position we can get a..
Lee la reseña completa »

1980-09-12 - Scarborough por iTim evaluado

Still early in the tour and their career which probably explains the lack of enthusiasm in the audience. The band..
Lee la reseña completa »


Early Days

37 reseñas han sido escritas por 22 usuarios.

1980-02-26 - Dublin

Escrito por CMIPalaeo - 10 meses atrás

Silver Lining is an early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock. Musically it's nearly identical (except a few neat little things at the end) but has very different lyrics. Speed of Life has lyrics, unlike the version that was eventually officially released. Trevor is an early version of Touch. Shadows and Tall Trees sounds quite different to the version on Boy.

Overall, a very solid show with great historical value. It's really something special to see the band at this early stage playing with all the passion and fire that will define their whole career.

Highlights
- Life On a Distant Planet (one of my favourite of U2's early songs)
- Another Day
- Pete the Chop
- Cartoon World
- Twilight
- Out of Control
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

1979-10-05 - Cork por LikeASong evaluado

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Lee la reseña completa »

1980-02-26 - Dublin por Bullet_Blue evaluado

The tracks that latter would be included on Boy have different lyrics or structures, so it's very interesting listening to..
Lee la reseña completa »

1979-10-05 - Cork por cesar_garza01 evaluado

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Lee la reseña completa »


Various Dates

165 reseñas han sido escritas por 64 usuarios.

2015-10-16 - London

Escrito por ajr - 1 año atrás

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get tickets to the live broadcast of tfi Friday in London - I did just that.

tfi Friday launched the weekend for millions of fully signed up lads and ladettes back in the 90's. Brash and soaked in alcohol it was fast paced and at times funny, but always high energy.

Brought back off the shelf for a short run this year it jumped back into living rooms, now owned by the 90's lads and ladettes, on Friday past with U2 as the main draw.

So fast forward 20 hours and I am now stood outside a very small and now defunct theatre with a Production wrist band on my wrist and knowledge that the next two hours will be special.

The venue maybe had 150 in the performance area - a mix of 20 U2 fans, a handful of 40something women reliving their early twenties as Take That fans (for they were on the show as well) and I guess some members of the public. It was a strange crowd, but with the TV lighting it made for a hot sweaty club vibe.

Showtime - Raised By Wolves - the B Man is 6 feet away giving it everything. The sound was incredible and the lads played as if their very lives that night depended on it. I'm no writer, so there is no way that I can give you any understanding of how incredible it was to be in the room. Bizarrely, watching over the weekend on the extended playback, it came across as the worlds greatest live band did an ok job! By now you will have seen it for yourself, and I guess it plays back to way back when when U2 became the only band to ever go DOWN the charts after an appearance on Top of The Pops (UK TV chart show).

A very unenlightening interview later in the show away up on the theatre gallery was nothing more than swapping banter between host and band, and hosts Son and hosts Mother! That didn't matter the band weren't here to chat and we weren't there to listen to them talk!

They closed the TV broadcast with Vertigo. Edge's guitar sound taking our heads off! Song for Someone carried all the emotion and then the "This is our first single.." intro and a version of Out of Control that will be with me until I am no more. Just incredible. The room was too small to hold the energy! Bonotised with champagne and it was thank you, goodnight!

Dallas, Sammy, Jake and Stuart left to pick up the pieces as U" have left the building.

Insane evening - thank you to all who made it happen.

The venue was the Cochrane Theatre, London.

I was told that the tour will play indoors and outdoors next year, and then follow the yellow brick road to Aus/NZ in 2017........ Here's hoping!
Lee la reseña completa »

Actuación:
Público:
Sonido:
General:

2011-10-15 - Hollywood por ahn1991 evaluado

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out..
Lee la reseña completa »

1983-12-18 - London por partygirl65 evaluado

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Lee la reseña completa »

1987-11-11 - San Francisco por Unknown evaluado

A true raw outdoor performance. Engagement with the crowd takes place at some level on almost every song. Three..
Lee la reseña completa »